if music be the food of love, sing on

I’ve got a serious problem with music today. At the risk of sounding like an 60-year-old woman (or my mother), I honestly don’t understand what’s happened to us as a generation, society, whatever you want to call it, that “artists” would be inspired to create songs with the lyrics that they do.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not playing the ‘holier than thou’ card – I listen and enjoy a lot of this crap. But sometimes I’m just that more aware of the lyrics and when I am, I get mad.

 

I’ve got a bunch of random songs downloaded on my computer (commercial hits, songs that my friends send me, whatever comes my way) and I’ll set the player to shuffle and go about my day with it in the background. But since I’m at a new job and don’t have much to do just yet, the music is a little more amplified and harder to ignore.

The song that inspired this rant: Trey Songz (they can’t even spell dammit) Two Reasons

(I apologize in advance, but I didn’t write this stuff. I won’t share the whole song, but it’s particularly hilarious to note that the song has been fragmented into verses and choruses. I am thoroughly insulted.)

[Intro: Trey Songz]
Tell the DJ turn it up, bet the DJ bring it back
Tell em play that shit again, tell em that you like that (Like That)
OH

[T.I.]
Trey, I ain’t got but 2 Reasons to be here man
All the bottles, Poppin bottles

[Verse 1: Trey Songz]
I know it’s somebody birthday, right now (Right Now) right now (Right Now [2x]) Yeahh
Is somebody getting drunk doe, right now [5x] (Yeahhh)
Catch me in the club like I own that bitch (Own That Bitch)
Shawty dancing like she on that dick (On That D)
Bad bitches never hold back (Never Hold Back)
Send me a picture where ya phone at (Ooohhh)

[Pre-Chorus:]
I only came here for 2 Reasons, I-IIII can’t lie (Whatcha came for)

[Chorus:]
I only came for the bitches and the drinks (Uh-huh), bitches and the drinks [2x] (That Right)
For the bitches, Ca-Came for the bitches and the drinks (Uh-huh), bitches and the drinks [2x] (Alright) (Baby Whatcha Came For)
(Aahh) Baby get ya glass up (Get Ya Glass Up) I only came for the bitches and the drinks
Baby get ya ass up (Get Ya Ass Up) that’s what I came for (Yeahhh)

 

The second verse goes on to say how he’s trying to handcuff her (ie, the “bitch”) but she’s a freak and he can’t control her and her ghetto booty.

Riveting stuff.

I’m curious – how does the recording session go over? What does that even sound like? “Cut! Cut! Wait, OK, back it up. Let’s pick it right back up from ‘baby get ya glass up, I only came for the bitches’ good?” Seeeeeeeeriously. I wouldn’t be able to keep a straight face.

Whatever happened to the stairway to heaven? The tambourine man? Why are we so interested in getting our booty’s slapped or tapped or in grinding and winding, bumping and pumping all over the dance floor? Honestly, I like to move it, move it, but I don’t have the energy to move it all like that! What’s wrong with the Macarena? (I’m not implying that the Macarena and Pearl Jam be put in the same category, but you get my drift).

Ay ay ay…. coco jumbo (shaking my head).

I don’t know. I’m not all that old. But in my 28 (almost 29) years, I’ve come to appreciate good music with good lyrics. The kind of lyrics that when you hear them, remind you of someone (fondly – not the crazy “hoodrat, hoodrat hootchie mama). The lyrics you want to quote to your best friend, boyfriend, lover – the ones that make you laugh and cry – the words that you feel were written specifically for you – the words you wish you thought of first.

Anyway, I’d like to leave you with one of my favorite quotes – but I have so many! This one goes out to my lovely boyfriend

“See, you and me
Have a better time than most can dream
Have it better than
the best
And so can pull on through
Whatever tears at us
Whatever holds
us down
And if nothing can be done
We’ll make the best of what’s around”

– Courtesy of Dave Mathews Band – Under the Table and Dreaming

2 thoughts on “if music be the food of love, sing on

  1. babe ur listening to too much trashy radio!! pop on the radio is just flat out bad… worse still on the ‘commercial’ radio stations in jordan…. if by some miracle of a chance you are actually downloading and listening to the above mentioned sonic drivel i will disown you
    … other wise extra points for mentioning Dave Matthew band!! they rock!

Leave a Reply

