Tom-ay-to Tom-ah-to

I’ve always bitched and moaned about how over worked and under paid I was. At every. single. job. (with the exception of my teaching job in Istanbul) Since moving back home, I’ve found that you will never get what you want unless you ask for it. And chances are that if you do ask for it, there’s still no guarantee that you’ll get it.

 

With that, and four years of grueling dedication later, I quit my job as a “Communications Manager” at my beloved home away from home to pursue bigger and better things as a “Senior Account Manager” somewhere else. Yes, you’re correct. It’s the same job. Only at this new place, I get higher pay (cuz I asked for it), fewer responsibilities (cuz I have a team) and more respect cuz of my “experience”. So after my 10 day vacation in Mexico, I came home, handed over all my work and started the following week off at my new dwellings. Four days later and I have done absolutely nothing.

 

Everyone’s telling me to enjoy this break that I’m getting; paid break at that. But you have to understand that the only time in the past four years that I ever got a break was when I wasn’t at the office. Now, instead of being over worked and under paid, I feel like I’m robbing these people blind. An entire week and I’ve done nothing!! I didn’t even have the internet the first day, so you can only imagine how exciting that was. Today they finally set up my email address, but I still have no one to write.

 

There was a point to this blog but I totally forgot where I was going with this. Oh well. Seems like this will be a much more chilled out job. Don’t know how I feel just yet, but I guess I really am enjoying the break. Will enjoy it more end of the month when I get my pay check, I’m sure.

 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

