Do nothing

Last year I came across this link that someone shared on Facebook and it directed me to a site that was quite intriguing. I don’t remember the name of the site, but it basically asked me to do nothing. For two whole minutes.

 

Let me just tell you, it was one of the hardest things to do. Especially since I was in front of my computer! I don’t know about you, but I’ve got a minimum of 3 tabs open on my browser, 2 work emails, 3 or 4 briefs and a media plan open at any given time. And of course there’s the listening to music and asking my colleague to grab something off the printer while I dab some creme on my hands.

 

Multi-tasking has been taken to a whole new level and we now use words such as “efficiency” to disguise feelings of “burn out” and “chaos”. I can only get about 2 or 3 hours of solid work in before my mind starts to wander and lazy on to useless nonsense. And while I used to think that I’m just not focused enough, I’ve come to find that I’m too damn focused and just need a break!

 

Apparently, I signed up to receive notifications whenever this site did something new – and today, I got a notification! They informed me that they are “pleased to announce a new website that aims to provide a relaxation experience anytime you need one.”

 

I definitely enjoyed it and whole heartedly recommend it to anyone that tries to cram 36 hours into the meager 24 existing ones.

 

http://www.calm.com

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

